Walking On A Thin Thread

One day, I swear that I will pack everything up and leave the mess of a CW show that is The Vampire Diaries (TVD).  I will ship every character in a box (if I have to) on the TVD to the new show The Originals (TO) except Elena and Stefan. Stelena fans can have their show. Julie Plec, the rest of writers and crew already ruined the show for me.

Going into TVD season 5, I wasn’t expecting much, but I had some hope. If the current Damon and Elena couple is already showing signs of trouble this early, there’s not going to be good news in the near future. Perhaps the strongest reason what TVD lacks is ironically family.

The bond of family blesses us with an immeasurable power. But we also must accept what comes with it. It gives us a responsibility to love without condition, without apology. We can never waver from the power of that bond, even if it’s tested. The bond nourishes us, gives us strength. Without that power, we are nothing.” – Elijah Mikaelson (The Originals Season 1, Episode 1)

In the first episode:

Stefan, who is trapped inside of a box, dreams that Damon tells him to turn off his humanity and then dreams that Elena tells him the opposite. In Stefan’s mind, Damon is not a truly brotherly figure (I know Damon cares for his brother).

This is a sign that Stefan truly doesn’t like his brother Damon. (Sadly, it’s also a sign how the TVD crew hates and loves to torture Damon.) If your subconscious dreams of your ex-lover and brother and you choose to listen to the less obvious one over the other, it’s a sign that you don’t think highly of your brother.

I’m only sticking to the show a little while longer because I’m hoping that some characters, especially Caroline, move over to the new show, The Originals and I’d love to see Ripper Stefan in action. Probably after Ripper Stefan, TVD is over for me.

The Originals is promising because the Mikaelson is all about family and possibly the introduction of a little Mikaelson.

“Family is power, Niklaus. Love, loyalty – that’s power. This is what we swore to one another a thousand years ago, before life tore away what little humanity you had left, before ego, before anger, before paranoia created in this person before me someone I can barely even recognize as my own brother. This is us, the Original family, and we remain together, always and forever.” – Elijah Mikaelson (The Originals Season 1, Episode 1)

Even though Klaus “likes to” stab his siblings and coffin them for years, he cares for his family and listens to them. Rebekah and Elijah still and always and forever stick with Klaus because they love each other.

About GirlOnGreen

Occasional writer. Sporadic bursts of wittiness. Speaks for the trees. Not built under pressure. girlongreen@hotmail.com Twitter: girlongreen
This entry was posted in Stress and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Walking On A Thin Thread

  1. akoresko says:

    Don’t give up on TVD!!!! It will get better – you know it will. I bet in another 3 episodes or so, you’ll be on the edge of your seat. They’re just laying the groundwork because the whole show has changed and we don’t know who to trust. (Of course, you already read my theory – http://meangirlstv.wordpress.com/2013/10/13/the-vampire-diaries-who-do-you-trust/) I think once we know who’s good and who’s bad – or at least have a general idea of the new dynamic, it will be back to its usual nail-biting self.

    • GirlOnGreen says:

      Thanks. I already been through the worst torture already (Season 3) where I felt like I was dragged through dirt when Damon was hated so much. I stayed for season 4. I don’t know if I could handle Damon in pain again.

  2. Katinka says:

    I think Stefan dreams about Damon and Elena because they’re the two most important people in his life. He loves them both, and he knows they both love him, but they express their love in different ways. Damon advises Stefan to turn off his humanity because he wants to help him and doesn’t want him to be in pain. Elena represents hope and tells him to stay strong and not give up. I understand both their points. What I didn’t like was how Elena told Stefan to do it for her. That is just the most stupid and selfish and unromantic thing I have ever heard. Why would Stefan want to do anything for Elena after she broke his heart? Why would he want to suffer and live for her? If Stefan wants to hold onto his humanity, he should do it for himself. Both choices are comforting; they present him with an escape and are equally easy way outs. In both cases, he wouldn’t have to take responsibility for his actions. I’m not sure how Stefan got out of the safe, but I doubt he could have done it himself, so once again, he’s saved from having to make his own decision.

    • GirlOnGreen says:

      I thought there would be something different when Stefan dreamed of Damon because Damon has changed to become a nicer person. I feel like Damon would say something better to his brother in real life. But what do I know?
      Even though Elena broke his heart, Stefan loves Elena. I never understand their relationship. The dead person in the safe probably let him out or that the Ripper Stefan is so strong that he could gotten himself out.

      • Katinka says:

        Yeah I think Stefan’s dreams are open to interpretation. Damon described them as hallucinations, and hallucinations usually aren’t very pleasant. It seems like Stefan is being tortured physically by drowning and emotionally by his imagination. I wouldn’t be surprised if he blamed Damon and/or Elena for all his pain and suffering when he returns.

      • Katinka says:

        Do you mean when Damon said all that stuff about stealing Stefan’s girlfriend, etc? Yeah, I don’t think Damon would torment him like that in real life. I think what was happening was all in Stefan’s imagination. It was based a little bit on reality and his perception. I think Stefan was being tortured physically by drowning and emotionally by his thoughts. It’s going to be very interesting to see what Stefan will be like after his experience. Maybe, he will blame Damon for all his pain and suffering, for stealing his girl, like how. Katherine was jealous of Elena and blamed her for stealing her life at the end of Season 4. I think it would also be interesting to see how Katherine changes in Season 5. What if Stefan and Katherine became a couple?

      • GirlOnGreen says:

        Damon never stole Stefan’s girlfriend. I believe it was actually fair in love and war especially considering Elena abused Damon’s feelings and Elena chose Damon. Besides I don’t think there’s all that much to Stefan and Elena. I never thought about Stefan and Katherine together. The best thing I want for this show is for both Damon and Stefan to leave Elena.

      • Katinka says:

        Lol. I think Damon and Elena are an exciting and sexy couple. They’re fun and funny together, even when they argue. I like how their relationship developed, first as friends, then lovers. They’ve always seemed to have a special connection, so I hope they stay strong and make it to the end! Stefan should just move on already and find himself a new love. I don’t think Damon stole Elena either, it was her choice, and their feelings had been brewing for a long time. I think Silas is messing with Damon’s head though insinuating that he stole Stefan’s girl. Anyway. Can’t wait to see this week’s episode “Original Sin.”

Leave a Reply

